Minnesota Caucus Night Recap 05 Feb 14

A cold caucus night didn’t keep Minnesotans from showing up to do their part Tuesday to help shape the 2014 elections. Former House Minority Leader Marty Seifert narrowly lead the field in Tuesday night’s nonbinding GOP straw poll for governor. Seifert won with 28% of the vote, with State Senator Dave Thompson in second at 26%. Minnesota State Senator Julianne Ortman won the straw poll for US Senator with 31% of the vote. Mike McFadden came in second with 22%. The official tallies will be verified and posted later today (WED). In Minneapolis, a fight broke out among DFL caucus attendees and police shut down the caucus and ordered people to leave the Bryan Coyle Center just 45 minutes after the meeting started. Seifert and Ortman were also the top picks for Brown County Republicans. Democrats in Brown County and across the state are supporting their incumbents with Governor Mark Dayton, Congressman Tim Walz and Senator Al Franken all running for re-election.