Wheelage Tax For Local Counties 01 Aug 13

Sibley and McLeod Counties have become the latest local-area counties to approve the implementation of a wheelage tax. The Sibley County Board unanimously authorized the new $10 per-vehicle tax last week, and the McLeod County Board approved the tax on a 3-2 vote this week. Under the plan, the state will collect the revenue when people purchase license tabs for vehicles beginning January 1st, and it will be returned to counties in monthly payments and be used to improve roads. Other local counties that have approved a wheelage tax include: Brown, Carver, Cottonwood, Le Sueur, Martin, Renville, Scott and Watonwan. The Blue Earth, Nicollet and Redwood County Boards all recently voted down the new tax.