Candidates For St. Peter Elections 19 Aug 13

It’s an off year for elections, but some Minnesota communities will still have races on the ballot this November, including the City of St. Peter. Several members of both the St. Peter City Council and St. Peter School Board will not be running for re-election this year as well, leaving room for some new faces. The 4-year terms are up for 3 city councilors: Susan Carlin, Jerry Pfeifer and Ken Eichmann. St. Peter Mayor Timothy Strand’s term is up as well, along with 3 St. Peter School Board members: Robert Lambert, Jon Carlson and Peter Nelson. Mayor Strand is being challenged by Joel Brinker. With 2 seats open in northern St. Peter’s Ward 1, candidates Susan Carlin and Roger Parras are both practically guaranteed a position on the council. There is only 1 seat open in southern St. Peter’s Ward 1, so there will be a 3-way race between Stephen Grams, David McGuire, and Russell Nachreiner. The candidates for St. Peter School Board include: Dan Bergeson, Jon Carlson, Drew Dixon, Chris Harmes, Charlie Potts, and Keith Stelter. Election Day is November 5th.