Presidential Disaster Declaration 26 Jul 13

President Obama at Governor Dayton’s request has declared 18 Minnesota counties a federal disaster area following severe storms and flash flooding that hit a wide swath of the state in June. The declaration makes federal money available to cities and counties to repair roads, bridges, parks and public buildings. The Public Safety Department’s Doug Neville says that the presidential declaration does *not* include individual disaster assistance. The federal government will cover 75% of the cost and the state and/or local governments must pick up the rest. There’s no word yet on whether Governor Dayton will call the legislature into special session to address that. Local counties included in the declaration include McLeod and Sibley.