New Local Legislator Sworn-In 19 Feb 13

The newest local-area state representative was being sworn in this (TUE) morning. Democrat Clark Johnson of North Mankato was sworn into office by House Speaker Paul Thissen today at 9:30am. The 60-year-old MSU-Mankato professor was the winner in a 3-way Special Election for District 19A last week following the resignation of St. Peter Democrat Terry Morrow, who left the Legislature for a job in Chicago. Johnson received nearly 54% of the vote in the election, compared to 36% for Republican Allen Quist and 10% for the Independence Party’s Tim Gieseke.