HOF Inductees Announced Saturday 01 Feb 13

The Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013 will be unveiled Saturday at the Superdome, one day ahead of Super Bowl 47. Among the 15 finalists this year is former Vikings wide receiver Cris Carter.

The NFL will announce the winner of the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award tomorrow. It is presented annually to the player combining on-field excellence with off-field community work. This year’s finalists are Minneapolis native and Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, Cleveland Browns left tackle Joe Thomas and Dallas Cowboys tight end Jason Witten. First given to Baltimore Colts quarterback Johnny Unitas in 1970, the NFL Man of the Year Award was renamed to honor Payton in 1999. The late Chicago Bears Hall of Fame running back won the award in 1977.