Dist. 19A Special Election Results 13 Feb 13

The DFL will retain the Minnesota House District 19A seat vacated by Terry Morrow, with Democrat Clark Johnson winning Tuesday’s Special Election for the seat with nearly 54% of the vote. The 60-year-old MSU Professor from North Mankato says that he’s ready to go to St. Paul and get to work on his top priorities. Johnson received a total of 2,680 votes to Republican Allen Quist’s 1,801, or 36%, and the Independence Party’s Tim Gieseke’s 411 votes, or 10% of the vote. Following his defeat Tuesday night, former state lawmaker Al Quist announced that this would be his final race, and that he would now be retiring.