Peterson Wins Award 16 Jan 13

The Vikings Adrian Peterson has been named the 2012 NFC Offensive Player of the Year as part of the annual NFL 101 Awards. Peterson will be honored at a dinner in Kansas City in March. He rushed for 2097 yards this season, falling just nine yards shy of the NFL’s single season rushing record. He scored 12 touchdowns. Denver’s Peyton Manning was named the AFC’s Offensive Player of the Year. The NFC Defensive Player of the Year was San Francisco’s Aldon Smith, while Houston’s J.J. Watt won the AFC honor. Colts head coach Chuck Pagano and his offensive coordinator Bruce Arians won AFC Coach of the Year honors. Pete Carroll of Seattle was the NFC Coach of the Year.