District 88 elects officers 11 Jan 13

The District 88 Board of Education held its organizational meeting and study session Thursday evening. Newly-elected board members Sharon Gieseke, Jill Hulke and Matt Ringhofer took the oath of office. The board also re-elected Duane Winter as chair, Patricia Hoffman was elected vice-chair, Steve Gag clerk and Don Deslauriers treasurer. Compensation for board members remained unchanged. Superintendent Harold Remme also shared ideas about the potential allocation of funds generated by a local levy of $575 per pupil per year approved by voters in November. Remme especially stressed the recovery of deficit spending and the reduction of class section sizes as use for the funds.