District 19A Primary Election 18 Jan 13

Minnesota House District 19A Democrats are preparing to meet this Saturday to endorse a candidate for the seat vacated by Terry Morrow, but there will be a special primary election for the 4 DFL candidates at the end of January nonetheless. The primary election will be held January 29th because the deadline to withdraw from the race comes before the DFL endorsement convention. The primary candidates are teacher and union activist Robin Courrier, MSU professor Clark Johnson, North Mankato farmer Karl Johnson and St. Peter Mayor Tim Strand. The winner will face Republican Allen Quist and the Independence Party’s Tim Gieseke in a February 12th special election. Morrow left the Legislature to accept a job in Chicago.