District 19A DFL Primary Today 29 Jan 13

Democrats in Minnesota House District 19A are choosing a candidate in a special primary election today (TUE) for the open seat vacated by Terry Morrow. Four Democrats are on the ballot. Those candidates include: MSU professor Clark Johnson, North Mankato farmer Karl Johnson, North Mankato teacher and union activist Robin Courrier and St. Peter Mayor Tim Strand. Clark Johnson has received the DFL endorsement, prompting the other three candidates to suspend their campaigns and urge fellow Democrats to support him. The special election for the seat will be held February 12th. The Republican candidate is former state representative Allen Quist, and the Independence Party’s candidate is Tim Gieseke. District 19A covers all of Nicollet County as well as small portions of Blue Earth and Le Sueur Counties.