District 19A DFL Primary Results 30 Jan 13

A Primary Election was held Tuesday for DFL candidates running for the open District 19A Minnesota House seat, and the winner was MSU Professor Clark Johnson with 66% of the vote. The longtime DFL activist was his party’s endorsed candidate in the race. He says that if he’s elected to replace Terry Morrow, the state’s finances would be his top priority. Johnson says that roads would also be a priority of his, including Highway 14. He will now take on Republican Allen Quist and the Independence Party’s Tim Gieseke in the special election for the seat on February 12th. The other DFL candidates on the ballot on Tuesday had suspended their campaigns to support Johnson, who received 641 votes. North Mankato farmer Karl Johnson received 252 votes, education and union activist Robin Courrier got 23 votes, and St. Peter Mayor Tim Strand received 51 votes.