Timm Special Teams POY 05 Dec 12

The Southwest Minnesota State University football program announced its 2012 team awards on Saturday, Dec. 1, at its annual team banquet. The members of the SMSU team selected nine individual awards with senior running back Gannon Moore (Sioux Falls, S.D.) earning the top award as the program’s most valuable player.

Senior running back Warren Matthews (Minneapolis, Minn.) was named the team’s offensive player of the year, junior linebacker Dashawn Miller (Anaheim, Calif.) was named defensive player of the year, while senior Dan Timm (New Ulm, Minn.) was named the squad’s special teams player of the year.

Timm, a 6-foot-1, 210-pound senior from New Ulm, Minn., finished the season with three tackles, two fumble recoveries and one forced fumble on special teams.

Southwest Minnesota State University, located in Marshall, Minn., is a member of NCAA Division II and competes in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference. SMSU finished with a 4-7 overall record and tied for 10th place in the 16-team NSIC.