State Football Playoffs 09 Nov 12

The Minnesota State High School League football playoffs began at select sites last night, with more quarterfinal games coming tonight and tomorrow. In all, four 2011 champions are in the Elite Eight of their respective classes with hopes to win another trophy. Dawson-Boyd is the returning Class A title team, 2010 and 2011 champ Caledonia is still alive in the Class 2-A field, St. Croix Lutheran returns as Class 3-A titlist, and Eden Prairie will try to win a championship in brand new Class 6-A, after winning the 5-A trophy a year ago. Here are results from last night’s quarterfinal games (remaining games are tonight or Saturday):

Class 6-A: Rosemount 14, Edina 10 (final) Class 6-A: Lakeville North 23, Prior Lake 3 (final) Class 2-A: BOLD 23, Holdingford 20 (final-overtime)