Drought Disaster Declaration 29 Oct 12

The United States Department of Agriculture has issued a disaster declaration for counties in Minnesota affected by the ongoing drought. The declaration means that farmers in these counties are now eligible for emergency loan assistance from the Farm Service Agency to help cover crop or livestock losses. In the KNUJ listening area, the declaration designates McLeod County as a primary disaster area, and Carver, Renville and Sibley counties as contiguous disaster counties.