New Ulm School Board 15 Aug 12

The New Ulm District 88 School Board on Tuesday approved the resignations of 9 district employees, including Washington Elementary Principal and District Technology Director Bill Sprung. District 88 Superintendent Harold Remme says that the Principal position will initially be filled on an interim basis, with a permanent replacement for Sprung likely to be hired next Spring. Remme says they will advertise the position externally at first. Sprung’s last day with District 88 was Tuesday, and he has already begun his duties as Elementary Principal with the Montevideo School District. Sprung served in New Ulm for 18 years. Also on Tuesday, the school board approved the hiring of Eric Simmons as District Technology Director. Simmons currently serves as the Technology Integration and Differentiation Specialist at Heritage E-STEM Magnet Middle School in West St. Paul. He is a 2009 graduate of the University of Minnesota.

Two more people filed for seats on the New Ulm District 88 School Board on Tuesday as well, prior to the filing deadline that evening. Rebecca Fliszar is a registered dietitian with the Heart of New Ulm, and Denny Waloch is the Manager of the New Ulm Walgreens. Their filings mean that a total of 8 people are running for the 4 open seats on the District 88 School Board. The other candidates are: Chris Cook, Sharon Gieseke, Patricia Hoffman, Jill Hulke, Matt Ringhofer and Jerod Spilman. Hoffman is the only incumbent running for re-election.