Federal Disaster Declaratio​n 07 Jul 12

A federal disaster declaration has been issued for 13 Minnesota counties and three tribal nations after preliminary assessments showed recent floods and storms caused more than $108-million in damage. The disaster declaration covers Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Crow Wing, Dakota, Goodhue, Kandiyohi, Lake, Meeker, Pine, Rice, Sibley and St. Louis counties.

In Sibley County, there was over $250,000 worth of damage from storms in late May, including downed trees and damage to roadways and bridges. The federal disaster declaration means these areas are eligible for public aid. FEMA will cover 75% of costs related to fixing or replacing roads, bridges or other public facilities. The state also requested individual assistance for those not covered by insurance. Those assessments will start July 11th.