New State Senate Majority Leader 28 Dec 11

The Minnesota Senate has a new Majority Leader. Following a daylong private meeting, Senate Republicans on Tuesday selected Dave Senjem of Rochester as their leader. Senjem is a retired environmental affairs officer for the Mayo Clinic who has made a name in state politics as the chair of the Capital Investment Committee and as a supporter of gambling expansion. He replaces former Majority Leader Amy Koch, who resigned two weeks ago after her questionable relationship with a staffer surfaced.